South Carolina women's basketball practice

Ty Harris

South Carolina senior guard Ty Harris earned a spot on the Nancy Lieberman Award watch list as the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame tapped the top 20 female collegiate point guards in the nation. The award, in its 21st season, recognizes the point guard who exhibits the floor leadership, play-making and ball-handling skills of Hall of Famer Nancy Lieberman. 

Harris took over the starting role midway through her freshman season, which culminated in the 2017 NCAA National Championship. A finalist for the Lieberman Award last season, Harris is a two-time All-SEC and honorable mention All-American who has ranked among the SEC's best in assists every season.

She is currently fourth in program history in career assists, just 102 away from the all-time record. After averaging double-digit points each of the last two seasons, Harris is on track to hit the 1,000-point threshold and become just the fourth Gamecock all-time to hit that mark while also handing out at least 500 assists. She has led the team in assists 73 times her 106 games played and has nine points-assists double-doubles to her credit, matching the program record.

The selection committee for the Nancy Lieberman Award is composed of top college women's basketball personnel, including media members, head coaches, sports information directors and Hall of Famers.

In March, five finalists will be presented to Ms. Lieberman and the Hall of Fame's selection committee. The winner of the 2020 Lieberman Award will be presented at The College Basketball Awards presented by Wendy's in Los Angeles, Calif., on Friday, April 10, along with the other four members of the Women's Starting Five. 

The Gamecocks host an exhibition game on Friday, Nov. 1, taking on North Georgia at Colonial Life Arena at 7 p.m. Admission is free. South Carolina officially opens the 2019-20 season four nights later against Alabama State in a 7 p.m. game on Tuesday, Nov. 5. 

2020 Nancy Lieberman Award Candidates

Te'a Cooper, Baylor

Crystal Dangerfield, UConn

Kelly Campbell, DePaul

Nicole Cardano Hillary, George Mason

Ali Patberg, Indiana

Lauren Dickerson, Miami (Ohio)

Cierra Hooks, Ohio

Sabrina Ionescu, Oregon

Destiny Slocum, Oregon State

Stella Johnson, Rider

Tyasha Harris, South Carolina

Tiana England, St. John's

Sug Sutton, Texas

Chennedy Carter, Texas A&M

Miyah Barnes, UAB

Kay Kay Wright, UCF

Japreece Dean, UCLA

Dru Gylten, Utah

Taja Cole, Virginia Tech

Chloe Wanink, Wofford